J. Fred Giertz Elected to SURS Board of Trustees

J. Fred Giertz Elected to SURS Board of Trustees

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
May 4, 2015
J. Fred Giertz Photo

J. Fred Giertz has been elected to serve a six-year term on the SURS Board of Trustees by the System’s annuitant members. His term begins July 15, 2015.

Trustee Giertz is a professor emeritus of economics at the University of Illinois in Urbana- Champaign. He previously served on the SURS Board from 1995-2005 as an appointed member and from 2009-2012 as an elected active member.

SURS conducted the election from April 1 - May 1, 2015, with two candidates vying to fill one annuitant (retired) board member term. Voting was handled by VR Election Services, an impartial election service company in Carrollton, TX. The vote totals are: J. Fred Giertz – 10,896 votes; Mitchell R. Vogel – 8,191 votes. There was above average participation, with over 32 percent of eligible members casting votes.

For the first time, members were able to vote via U.S. mail, phone or online. Most voters chose to vote by mail (81 percent). Twelve percent voted online and seven percent voted by phone.

Two participating (active) board member terms also expire in July, but because only two participating (active) members filed applications and petitions, an election for those seats was not necessary. Antonio Vasquez and Aaron Ammons will begin serving those six-year terms on July 15.

The SURS Board of Trustees is made up of 11 members: four elected participating (active) SURS members, two elected annuitant (retired) SURS members, four members appointed by the governor, and the chairperson also appointed by the governor and who serves as the chair of the Illinois State Board of Higher Education.

Current members of the SURS Board of Trustees include: Chairperson Lindsay Anderson, Jacqueline Berger, John Engstrom, Richard Figueroa, Paul R.T. Johnson Jr, Craig McCrohon, Dorinda Miller, Antonio Vasquez and Mitchell Vogel. There is one vacant elected trustee position.