New SURS Trustees

New SURS Trustees

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
February 12, 2013
New Board Members

Governor Quinn recently appointed three trustees to the State Universities Retirement System (SURS) Board. 

New members include: Richard Figueroa, director of Capital Markets for The Opus Group in Chicago; Paul R.T. Johnson Jr., owner of LSU Trading in Chicago; and Craig McCrohon, a partner with Burke, Warren, MacKay & Serritella in Chicago.

The SURS Board of Trustees is comprised of 11 members: four elected participating (active) SURS members, two elected annuitant (retired) SURS members, four members appointed by the governor, and the chairwoman who serves as the chair of the Illinois State Board of Higher Education and is also appointed by the governor.

McCrohon and Johnson will each serve a six-year term, expiring June 29, 2018; Figueroa will serve a three-year term, expiring June 29, 2015. Their appointments must be confirmed by the Illinois Senate.

Other members of the SURS Board of Trustees include: Chairwoman Carrie Hightman, Vice Chairman Antonio Vasquez, Treasurer Dorinda Miller, Jacqueline Berger, John Engstrom, Andrew Matthews, and Mitchell Vogel. There is one vacant seat.